Norton Rose

Editorial analysis

    Norton Rose Fulbright has expanded rapidly in recent years (in the previous Indian Lawyer 250 the firm was simply Norton Rose), and the India team has benefited greatly from the firm’s increased sectoral scope and international footfall. The team has been in existence for over 15 years and is made up of lawyers based in Europe, Asia, Australia, the Middle East, Africa, Canada and the United States, focusing in particular on project, corporate, and ship finance and disputes work.

    London’s Sherina Petit is co-head of the India practice and specialises in dispute resolution in the firm’s energy, trade and transport team. She has handled numerous Indian matters, including representing the energy subsidiary of one of India’s leading technology companies in an ICC arbitration worth $450 million, acting for one of India’s leading wind energy companies in an ICC arbitration; and acting for an Indian pharmaceutical company in an LCIA arbitration. Fellow group co-head Raj Karia is also based in London, where his M&A, equity capital markets, joint venture and restructuring transactions are held in high regard.

    Notable transactions for the group over the past year have included advising Axis Bank on the restructuring of its financing to PT Srinivasa for the acquisition of mining interests in Indonesia; representing an Indian bank in an UNCITRAL ad hoc arbitration arising out of a claim for more than $160 million; Generali on the restructuring of their life insurance joint venture in India with Larsen & Toubro acquiring a stake from the Future Group; ICICI Bank in relation to a US$54.4 million secured-term facility to Shiv-Vani Singapore, a subsidiary of Shiv-Vani Oil & Gas Exploration Services Limited, for the purposes of it acquiring the oil jack-up rig “Shiv-Vani Heritage” to be deployed offshore Egypt; the lenders on the provisions of the $27.5 million term facilities to Fineline Holdings guaranteed by certain corporate and personal guarantors; and AXA SA on the structure of the reorganisation across more than 10 jurisdictions, including Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Indonesia and India.